New Zealand Workplace Health & Safety Awards 2018


Celebrate health & safety heroes

Health and safety is full of unsung heroes who work hard behind the scenes to make sure everyone goes some safe and well.

It’s time to shine a light on those individuals, teams and initiatives that keep our workplaces healthy and safe.

Safeguard, in association with WorkSafe New Zealand, are pleased to announce that entries for the New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Awards are now open. There is a range of individual and organisational categories to enter that cover all aspects of health, safety and wellbeing. The awards are a great way of highlighting good work and showing that commitment to health and safety is a core value of your business.

The finalists and winners will be celebrated at a gala dinner and awards ceremony at the SKYCITY Convention Centre on 30 May, at the conclusion of the first day of the Safeguard National Health & Safety Conference.

To download the entry information pack, click here.

To download an entry form for an organisational category, click here.

To download an entry form for an individual category, click here.

To book your tickets for the gala dinner, click here.

Entries close 5pm, April 4 2018.


Why enter?

OPPORTUNITY FOR REFLECTION - The act of writing and submitting an entry is an opportunity to pause, put day-to-day matters to one side, and reflect on what has worked well over the last year or so, and the lessons learned. This process of critical analysis is valuable in evaluating your strengths (and ongoing challenges) in health and safety - and may spur further improvements.

PUBLIC RECOGNITION OF GOOD WORK - The successful initiatives or personal qualities of all finalists are acknowledged publicly at the gala dinner in front of a large audience of influential experts, executives and politicians. Further acknowledgement occurs as part of a post-awards media campaign.

ENGAGEMENT – Entering gives you the opportunity to acknowledge and reward the efforts of the teams and individuals involved, and is an opportunity to reinforce key messages to staff and suppliers around health and safety engagement.

NETWORKING AND LEARNING - Finalist or not, the gala dinner provides great learning and networking opportunities for people at all levels, from frontline workers to directors.

You can also view the photos from the 2017 awards on our Facebook page, or click here to read about our 2017 winners.

Any Questions?

Please email or phone Annette Vao on 09 361 8925.



Corrections has been engaged in a comprehensive health and safety programme for some years as the Department operates in areas of high risk that potentially impact on staff, offenders and the public. A central dimension of this programme is governance and leadership. Governance in a public service context means that our senior leaders must operate both from a management and governance perspective.

Corrections had not previously attended the New Zealand Health and Safety Awards or made an award submission. It was inspiring for us to attend the awards as a senior management team together with Ray Smith, our Chief Executive. The awards evening exposed us to the very best of organisations that shared our commitment to health and safety. We learned a great deal simply through attending the awards night and sharing in the outstanding work that so many organisations had achieved. It was a great honour, and surprise, to be chosen for the Best Board Level Engagement Award. For us this was an acknowledgement from our peers that we were in fact achieving excellence in our leadership of health and safety. So often agencies work in isolation from other organisations in the area of health and safety and therefore lack a sense of relative performance. The award has provided us with the motivation to continue to innovate and strive to create an even safer and healthier workplace.

Since receiving the award our Chief Executive has been asked to take a lead for the public service in health and safety. We are now well on our way towards providing sector support for 35 other government agencies. The networks that we have gained through the New Zealand Health and Safety Awards have helped us to establish this sector support function.

We highly recommend the Awards as a means for senior leaders in agencies to learn from others and to benchmark their performance with the best in New Zealand.

Vincent Arbuckle
Deputy Chief Executive, Corporate Services
Department of Corrections


In association with ...

Safeguard 2017 Awards- Worksafe NZ

Date & Location

Auckland: 30 May 2018
SKYCITY Convention Centre

Entries close 5pm April 4

Save the date!

And book your dinner tickets!


For any event enquiries please email or phone 09 361 8925

Attendees can access special rates for the SKYCITY Hotel here and the SKYCITY Grand Hotel here. Please use the rate code SAFE.